In 1976, a group of Miami's top business leaders met on the 38th floor of the new One Biscayne Tower to focus on the future of downtown Miami. At that time, signs of progress in downtown were stagnant, no new buildings were under construction and the existing plan for new development was near a standstill. As these leaders looked out at their city from that panoramic view, it became clear that what was lacking at that time was a plan of action. Alvah H. Chapman, Jr., then President of The Miami Herald, was called upon to lead this action-oriented committee of the Greater Miami Chamber - that day the Chamber's New World Center Committee was created.

In 2014, the Greater Miami Chamber presented the first annual Alvah H. Chapman, Jr. Award of Excellence for outstanding achievements of an individual, an organization and young leader who have made significant contributions and set standards for the development of Miami's central business core's economy, culture, promotion, education, beautification and preservation.

Click here to learn more about Alvah H. Chapman, Jr.

With special thanks to Allen Morris, founder and visionary of the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce Alvah H. Chapman, Jr. Award of Excellence.



  • William D. Talbert, III (2021)
  • Carlos Migoya (2019)
  • Ruth Shack (2018)
  • Alberto Ibargüen (2017)
  • Eduardo J. Padrón (2016)
  • Jorge Pérez (2015)
  • Mayor Manny Diaz (2014)


  • Camillus House (2021)
  • Knight Foundation (2019)
  • New World School of the Arts (2018)
  • Miami DDA (2017)
  • Swire Properties (2016)
  • The Miami Foundation (2015)
  • Miami Dade College (2014)

Young Leader:

  • Frankie Ruiz (2021)
  • Jessica Goldman Srebnick (2019)
  • Susan Amat (2018)
  • Spencer Crowley (2017)
  • Alice Bravo (2016)
  • Matt Haggman (2015)
  • Brian Alonso (2014)

Staff Contact

Kristina Desir