Traffic in Miami-Dade is one of the great issues of our community.  How great?  INRIX, a Seattle-based transportation data group, recently ranked Miami among the worst U.S. cities for annual hours lost by commuters. Absolutely no one is surprised by that.  Traffic is the byproduct of a desirable city on the rise. But solutions are necessary and possible.  The Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee works to bring answers and solutions to the transit woes. Working on a local, state and federal level with public and private entities, this committee aims to re-shape how our transportation systems function. 


The Transportation Committee works to leverage partnerships and dialogue between the business community, transportation officials, and local, state, and federal governmental agencies in order to improve transportation infrastructure and mobility through educational forums, legislative and policy initiatives, and improved ridership in mass transit.



  • Evaluate, support, and advocate for legislative, policy initiatives and transit solutions on behalf of Chamber members. 
  • Educate Chamber members and business community on the latest development on transportation.
  • Develop and maintain key partnerships that promote transit solutions for our members and improve overall 
  • transportation within the County 


Participation in the Transportation Committee is open to all Greater Miami Chamber members who have interests or concerns related to transportation issues. Committee members include community organizations, professionals within the transportation arena, private sector advocacy groups, engineers, educational organizations, and concerned citizens.


The Transportation Committee is led by a Committee Chair and Vice Chair, who are elected by the Board of Directors for a one-year term.  The Committee Chair is responsible for the effective functioning of the Transportation Committee and ensuring its goals and activities are aligned with the committee’s mission and objectives.  


Read the committee's 2019 - 2020 goals here.  

A. Vicky Leiva


A. Vicky Leiva
Bilzin Sumberg

Jose Abreu

Vice Chair

Jose Abreu
Senior Vice President
Gannett Fleming

Staff Contact

Top Investors

Baptist Health South Florida
bank of america
CareerSource South Florida
Carnival Corporation & PLC
Florida International University
Florida Power & Light
td bank
Wells Fargo